A searching mind and a compassionate heart

Just read a great letter from the 1970’s penned as a response by a physicist working on the US space program to a nun working with children in Africa.

The nun was questioning the value and cost of space exploration in light of the serious issues, like starving children, that need fixing here on Earth first.

The letter itself is wonderful but the first paragraph caught my attention, in particular the words I’ve emboldened:

Your letter was one of many which are reaching me every day, but it has touched me more deeply than all the others because it came so much from the depths of a searching mind and a compassionate heart. I will try to answer your question as best as I possibly can.

I found this to be an amazing compliment to the nun and something that sums up in a few words the core traits that so many extraordinary people I have met, share.

Included in that list are many startup founders.

When it comes to creating things that really matter I don’t think there’s much better advice than to maintain a searching mind and a compassionate heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

